It’s That Time of Year~Purging Time

Standard

Well as you all know my large family lives in a very small home and (my two boys that do not spend a lot of time here) there room is a shared craft room with me that was once very organized and pretty and a very well shared space. When I got sick I filled the void of my negative feelings with buying crafting items, shopping at thrift stores and yard sales and not getting rid of anything! Needless to say I have become my own worst nightmare…a hoarder!!!

My craft room/kids room is not even usable you can’t even walk through the door to get anything even if I was wanting to work on a project (in which case I currently am, I am needing to finish my costume for comic-con which is coming up on my birthday here in Portland, Oregon) I’m so excited I have never been and I will definitely be doing a post afterward including pictures of our trip. The cast from Dr. Who is going to be there, I can’t wait!!! Anyways sorry I get sidetracked really easily…

I decided I had to start on the garage first because my husband has been wanting that to be done for quite some time now. My best friend Jillybean came over and helped me and within 2 entire days full of work we hauled off two full car loads to Goodwill. I have a handful of crafted items that I have been selling but other than that we have just been purging, purging, purging. I still have a little ways to go in the garage as I need to take another trip to Goodwill and then start on the organization part of it.

Then comes the treacherous boys room/craft room. I can’t remember the last time they were able to sleep in there own room, which makes me feel like a terrible Mom but even when it is clean they down’t like to sleep in there they sleep in the same room as their step-brother so they can all spend time together or they stay up late playing games and crash in the living room recliners. Mine and my husband’s room is over run by my clothing! My closet is in the boys room because we do not have enough space and so he has the closet in our room because he has to go to work in business clothes 5 days a week and I don’t work so I decided to take the closet in the other room. However it seems my wardrobe is overflowing out of every nook, cranny and orphous of our home so that too is a huge task ahead of me. Also because I can’t get into the other room where my closet is none of my clothes that need hung up are getting put away they are just getting stacked “nice & neatly” in corners and where ever I can shove them and make them fit πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

Then comes the bath and beauty products. Chris took the bathroom apart while I was in Miami and built new cabinets. So when I got home all my bathroom items were all boxed up and I didn’t realize how much crap I had until it was all laid out in front of me in boxes. Wow! Even tonight I couldn’t seep because of insomnia so I went through my fingernail polish stuff and down sized a huge amount, sadly it all still takes up an extra large storage bin! I also need to choose a color and paint our new bathroom cabinets so that after I purge my bathroom items I can start putting things back where they belong.

Like my husband always tells me every time I get discouraged he says “any and all steady forward progress is success” it doesn’t have to be a huge amount of progress just steady forward progress…continue moving in the right direction. I don’t know where I would be without my husband, he is amazing. He is so patient with me on the days I don’t feel good enough to even get any regular house hold chores done let alone anything extra. I get to feeling really discouraged like I’m never going to get out of this rut I’m in, but when I do make progress like on the days that Jill came and helped me and we hauled off two car loads to Goodwill; WOW! That felt amazing!!!! You wouldn’t even know that I have done that if you look at our garage now and didn’t see it before.

We almost need a second storage shed in the back yard for things such as storage totes full of camping items, hunting items, Christmas items…etc…all marked and stacked nicely so they are easy to find but I don’t think that is going to happen sadly. When I start to cut into my craft room I am going to really tear into things and get rid of everything I can, down to the bear bones of what I need to function as an artist and hobby enthusiast.

By then it will be time to hit my wardrobe and that will be another huge thorn in my side but a great relief when it is done… It will be a slow going project. I didn’t become a hoarder overnight and my habits won’t just undo themselves, I have to work on my habits as I work on decluttering the mess I’ve made of our home. I read a lot of great blog posts on decluttering-365 and how to stop hoarding; there are many great bloggers out there with many wonderful tips. When I have completed a couple of sections I will post before and after photos and give you all the best tips that worked for me.

So far the big question I have for myself if I’m having a difficult time saying good bye to an item is “when did I use this last? How often does it get used? Is the value of the item and space the item is taking up worth the amount of use I’m getting out of it? (If that makes any sense, lol)

We live in an older home and yes it is small but I had a dream when I married my husband of making the inside and outside of this home look very shabby chic cottage like. (I know part of the reason I haven’t completed that is because of finances and because what man says yes I want my house shabby chic) This was his house that he bought before we met so that makes things a little more difficult.

Any tips or questions please speak freely and let me know what you think of my blog. Please if you have tips for me in this purging process hit me up don’t be afraid to tell me like it is. As always thank you for your love and support. I look forward to hearing any feedback you might have for me. I will post pictures with my next post as to how I am doing. I wish I would have taken photos of the garage before I started so I could have showed you before and afters of it. I will at least be able to show you the after photos though. Until next time. Smile, be happy and live well.

~Elle Hegge
ellestrash2treasure@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

