Mother’s Day Card & Fun Adventures

Standard

Sorry that it has been a couple weeks since I’ve blogged anything for you guys. Life has been crazy busy. As I talked about before my son and I were invited to Great Wolf Lodge over Spring Break; wow, what an adventure! Water slides, hot tub, funnel slides, resort store/restaurants/gift shop/ice cream parlor/arcade and more! The water park stays open until 9:00pm and when you go down the funnel slide and tunnel slides at night there are LED lights flashing and music playing. It was a blast! We owe a great big thank you to our good friends JD and Sicily!

I have so many fun projects I’ve been working on and in the midst of starting that I didn’t know where to begin…so we will start with the Mother’s Day card I made for Sicily’s shop, and I will write a second post for the other projects I just completed because they are much bigger than a card. This one in particular was fun, she is wanting more of a shabby chic style (which is great because I happen to LOVE shabby chic anything) and I wanted to incorporate a bit of frills in there as well.

I used Stampin Up
Hardwood stamp 2014/2015
Petal Parade 2014 Sale-a-Bration
Mother Day 2014 April Paper Pumpkin
Bird Builder Punch
Itty Bitty Punch Pack (Flower)
twine, ribbon with frilled fabric sewn on to it and pearls

image

Card base is light blue, with shimmer white over it then another piece of blue and whisper white card stock for the card face. I stamped the fan flower from Petal Parade in Pistachio green, on another piece of white scrap I stamped the Hardwood stamp in Tim Holtz Distressed Walnut Ink and cut the boards out to individual boards and glued them on accordingly. (I also used brads in the four corners to make it look like nails). I punched out several sets of leaves from the Bird Builder punch in Old Olive Card Stock, punched out 3 or 4 flowers from the Itty Bitty Flower and stacked them on top of each other to give it more of a dimensional look and curled the petals up a touch. For the two larger flowers I cut out circles and then cut spirals in the circles all the way from the outer edge to the center, rolled them starting from from the outer edge and used hot glue to glue them down to the center of the spiral and added a pearl to the center of each one. The white rose is a brad that came in a package I picked up at Michaels. Then I stamped the Happy Mother’s Day stamp on a punched out piece I already had in Distressed Walnut again then I also went around the outer edge of the punch in the same color ink to give it just a little added pop and used Stampin Up dimensionals to give it some more dimensions. My finishing touch was to add the twine and the frilly ribbon to the top and tada!

I will be back tomorrow to show what other awesome projects I have been indulged in over the past week! I’m so excited to share with you. I will only be getting busier as I’m making items to go in my booth at 3 different craft/vendor events over the next few months, so you might want to follow along so that you can always see when I post the next and latest-greatest of Elle.

As always thank you so much for following along with me and supporting me in my fun and crazy life with all kinds of different endeavors (some fantastic and some complete failures) but always worth giving it the go! Until next time: Happy crafting & God Bless!

About ellestrash2treasure

I am a crafter, blogger who dabbles in a little bit of everything. I stay at home and take care of the family and our home; a wife and mom of 4 boys. I do everything from wedding planning, photography, and decor to scrapbooking, card making, sewing, quilting, crocheting and refurbishing. I can make something out of nothing.

10 responses »

  1. Awe thank you much for your kind comment. We had a blast! I really enjoyed making this card, there will be more cards to come she needs more for the shop and I need to make one for my Mom and my Mother in Law. I will be doing another post tomorrow some time for my bigger project that I just completed so stay tuned for more fun posts to come. Thank you for following my blog and your continued support!

    Like

Leave a Reply

