New Adventures

Standard
New Adventures

Thank you for your continued support! Some of you know that I spent a week in the critical care unit at Lebanon Community Hospital with a bad bilateral pneumonia. From all bad things comes something good, and during my week stay I quit smoking. I am only smoking out of my vapor pen now and I even decreased that from 18mg down to 3mg. I get my vaping supplies from Freedom Vape in Lebanon, they have a wonderful selection and amazing customer service! I just went in there and I got to sign there wall of all the people who have quit smoking due to vaping instead!!!! What a great accomplishment!

This week I received a request for a special card order for my friend over at the Antiquary in Lebanon, Oregon for a set of 6 cards. I had one made and she saw it when she was over at my house and asked me to make her a set. I got the idea from Pinterest but there were only photos and no tutorials or reference as to where it came from or who made it. So I am going to attempt to provide you with my first tutorial. I would really appreciate your feedback and please let me know if you have any questions or are unclear on any part of my tutorial.

Many of the items I used to make this card are from Stamin Up. Here is a list of items I used to make this card:

Dark Brown Paper 5.5″x8.5″, Cream Paper sizes for inside 4″x5″ & front of card 2.5″x5″, Sky Blue Paper sizes for inside 4.25″x5.25 & front 2.75″x5.25″; Butterfly Basics Stamp Set from 2015 Occasions Catalog, A Happy Thing from the 2015 Sale-a-Bration Catalog, and a dots stamp from the Grunge stamp set, Artisan Label Punch, Tag Punch & Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack (Flower) Early Espresso Ink, Sky Blue Ink, Crumb Cake Ink & Baked Brown Sugar Ink; burlap paper, white lace, brown ribbon & sky blue ribbon.

On each end of the 8.5″x5.5″ paper you will punch using the tag punch and cut off the rectangle pieces on both sides of the punched area. (Make sure you punch as even as possible on each side. To do so, punch the first side out as close to the center as possible and then do a soft fold over to the other side to line up the already punched area with the punch.) Fold over the tab of the tag punch on one side only, then fold over the other side of the card so that the tabs just barely touch outer edge to edge. Then you will glue down your sky blue sheets of paper on both the front and inside of the card and then glue in the cream sheets of paper on top of the blue pieces.

On the inside of the card you will stamp on the cream colored paper the honeycomb stamp from the Butterfly Basics stamp set in rows covering the entire piece of paper in Crumb Cake, stamp two rows of the tread marks stamp from the same set in Sky Blue on the right side of the inside going up & down and then stamp the dots in Early Espresso over the tread marks. On the front of the card you will stamp the bird from the “A Happy Thing” stamp set near the top of the cream piece in Early Espresso, the dots stamp in a few miscellaneous places over the page, also stamp the “love life” stamp from the same set on a scrap piece of Cream colored paper in Sky Blue and punch out with the Artisan Label Punch and punch out a piece of brown with the Artisan Label Punch. Cut the brown punched piece in half side to side and adhere to the back of the cream punched piece so that the brown stands out behind the cream piece on top and on bottom only. Color in the bird with Stampin Up blender pens.

Cut a piece of burlap paper 2.5″ wide by 1.25″ thick and glue just below the bird, then cut white lace the same width and glue over the burlap, use a pop up glue dot to adhere the love life that you punched out earlier; use the brown ribbon to make a bow and glue to the bottom of the punch out & use the blue ribbon to close your completed card through the holes in the tag punched tabs. You now have a beautiful card!

To add to a great day, the weather was beautiful today in Sweet Home and my best friend Jill called me today and asked if I felt up to working in my flower bed, that if so she would come help me. My flower bed was completely over taken by weeds, it was horrible and just the thought of working in it seemed to overwhelm me. So of course I jumped to the thought of getting help and spending time with my bestie….I can’t do much work because of my pain and disabilities so she did the major stuff, I just sat down and helped out where I could. My entire flower bed is completely weeded, (another amazing friend of mine Carol Ann came over and offered me plastic to lay down so that my weeds don’t grow back) and we got about half of my flowers planted today!!!! In the front of my porch area we planted a row of Tulips, a row of Bachelor Buttons, a row of Forget-me-Nots and then all over in between we placed a layer of Assylum Carpet ground cover. On the side of the porch we planted some Dalia’s, Lilly of the Valley & more Bachelor Buttons. We still have more to plant next week I have some bulbs of some vibrant orange Calla Lilly’s, seeds of foxglove, lupine & dephinium. I’m pretty excited for the way our yard is coming along and I’m very appreciative that my bestie Jillybean came and gave me a push to get it done as well as helped me do it.

As always thank you all for your continued interest and support in my blog. Please feel free to contact me for anything; requests for special orders, questions about my business-me-or my blog, and let me know if there are any special topics you would like me to cover in my blog or any tutorials you would like me to offer. I do so many crafts and I have my hands in a little bit of a lot of things so if I don’t know how to do it I can usually figure it out to share a tutorial with you. I hope you all have a great week! God bless you and all your endeavors! Enjoy life to the fullest, offer others respect and a smile (you never know what they are facing), when in doubt always hand it off to God, life is too short to stress the small things-live unhappily-or treat others poorly, and last but not least remember something good always comes from the bad you can’t go up if you’re already at the top.

Elle~

ellestrash2treasure@gmail,com

https://www.facebook.com/726087200844859/photos/a.726134367506809.1073741827.726087200844859/726134347506811/?type=1

The side flower bed

The side flower bed

Jill after a job well done

Jill after a job well done

Weeding 1 Bird Card 4

2 responses »

    • Thank you! I am feeling much better other than being down with my back pain. I’m really wanting to get in my craft room but am having a difficult time moving around. I will be working some more on my blog to hopefully publish another post this evening. Thank you for following my blog.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

